Talk:Leg bye

Add discussion
Active discussions
WikiProject Cricket (Rated Start-class, High-importance)
This article is part of WikiProject Cricket which aims to expand and organise information better in articles related to the sport of cricket. Please participate by visiting the project and talk pages for more details.
 Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
Bclass-checklist.svg
 High  This article has been rated as High-importance on the project's importance scale.
WikiProject Cricket To-do list:
Article assessment
Verifiability
Cleanup
Infoboxes
Cricket people
Cricket teams & countries
Images
On this day in cricket
Umpires
Women
Update
Other


Are leg-byes debited from the bowler's total? Tabletop 02:07, 31 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Leg-byes are not counted to the bowler's conceded runs. They are just like byes in this way. DarthVader 01:24, 17 November 2005 (UTC)

Why do leg byes exist?Edit

The article mentions Steve Waugh's call for them to be abolished because "I don't think you should get runs when you miss the ball". The Extra (cricket) article says "...leg byes are not scored against the bowler or the wicket keeper, because they are not their fault and occur at random."

So why on earth do they exist at all?

Since it mentions Waugh's view, a perfectly sensible one to me, a balancing comment in the article justifying their existence might be of value. Maybe there is something in the long history of cricket that could help explain it. HiLo48 (talk) 02:48, 14 November 2010 (UTC)


Why not LBW?Edit

The Leg Before Wicket article states that the batsman is out by LBW if the ball hits any part of his body. This article says that the batsman can score runs as Leg Byes if the ball deflects off his body. Perhaps somebody who knows something about cricket could explain LBW vs Leg Bye? Edmund Blackadder (talk) 06:30, 17 June 2011 (UTC)

In really simple terms, you can only be out LBW if the umpire deems that the ball would have hit the stumps if you hadn't been in the way. If the ball wasn't going to hit the stumps, you can score leg byes. (The rule is actually a lot more complicated than that, but what I've given you is the spirit of the rule. Other editors may come here now and want to try to explain the actual, full LBW rule in all it's horrible glory, but since we're explaining this to a novice, I actually hope they don't.) HiLo48 (talk) 08:25, 17 June 2011 (UTC)