Ivan Cheparinov (Bulgarian: Иван Чепаринов; born November 26, 1986) is a Bulgarian chess grandmaster. He is a four-time Bulgarian champion (2004, 2005, 2012, 2018). Cheparinov competed in the FIDE World Cup in 2005, 2007, 2009, 2015 and 2017. In 2018 he switched his national federation to Georgia.
Cheparinov in 2011
|Born||November 26, 1986|
|FIDE rating||2691 (February 2019)|
|Peak rating||2718 (August 2018)|
|Ranking||No. 32 (July 2018)|
He learned to play chess at age five and progressed quickly, winning the junior championship of Bulgaria in 2000.
At the traditional Sigeman & Co invitation tournament in Malmö, Ivan Cheparinov won outright in April 2007. He shared first place—with six others—at the 2007 European Individual Chess Championship in Dresden, but Vladislav Tkachiev won the tie-break. On the January 2008 FIDE rating list, Cheparinov was for the first time rated higher than 2700—often seen as the line that separates "elite" players from other grandmasters.
In June 2009 and in June 2010, he won the Ruy Lopez Masters, an invitation tournament, its fourth and last edition in 2010 with a performance rating of 2904. In June 2011 he tied for 1st–2nd with Atanas Kolev in the 3rd International Albena Open chess tournament. In October 2011 he tied for 3rd–15th in the open section of the 15th Corsican Circuit.
During the 2008 Corus chess tournament, Cheparinov's game in the eighth round of Group B against Nigel Short was declared a forfeit after the first move because he had twice refused to shake Short's hand at the start. After Cheparinov refused to shake hands, Short informed the arbiter that in such cases, the rules prescribe an immediate forfeit (Short claims that the arbiter was not aware of this rule and had to be reminded of it). Cheparinov's team claimed the arbiter was not aware of the rule since there is no such rule. The Topalov–Kramnik game at the same tournament started without a handshake, although in that case neither player 'refused' a handshake since neither had offered one. FIDE's behavioural norms state that,
[a]ny player who does not shake hands with the opponent [...] before the game starts in a FIDE tournament or during a FIDE match (and does not do it after being asked to do so by the arbiter) [...] will immediately and finally lose the relevant game.
The reason for Cheparinov's refusal was, according to the appeal made by him and his manager Silvio Danailov, that "some time ago in one of his interviews Mr. Short insulted him and our team gravely". They also claimed the arbiter had not given Cheparinov another opportunity to shake hands, but had immediately declared the game a loss. After their protest, the Appeals Committee of the tournament—consisting of Vladimir Kramnik, Michał Krasenkow and Judit Polgár—overturned the decision to forfeit the game. The Committee also decided that Cheparinov should apologize to Short, that the game was to be replayed the next day and that it should start with a handshake. Short ended up winning the game.
- "82nd Bulgarian Individual Chess Championship 2018 April 2018 Bulgaria - FIDE Chess Tournament report". ratings.fide.com. Retrieved 2018-07-22.
- Player transfers in 2018. FIDE.
- "Essent Open 2006". FIDE. Retrieved 8 January 2015.
- "Morelia Open 2007". THE WEEK IN CHESS 642. Retrieved 7 August 2015.
- "Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament 2007: Crosstable". www.sigeman-chess.com. Archived from the original on 2007-10-23. Retrieved 2008-02-03.
- "EURO 2007: Tkachiev and Kosintseva win European Championship". Chessbase. 2007-04-15. Retrieved 2008-02-03.
- "Cheparinov wins Ruy Lopez Masters with 2904 performance". ChessBase.com. 2010-06-20. Retrieved 20 June 2010.
- "3rd International chess tournament September 2011 Bulgaria". FIDE. Retrieved 17 December 2011.
- "15th Corsican Circuit – final Anand vs Mamedyarov on Monday". ChessBase. 2011-10-31. Retrieved 31 October 2011.
- "Chess News - Cheparinov wins the Politiken Cup 2012". ChessBase.com. 2012-08-14. Retrieved 30 August 2012.
- Ramirez, Alejandro. "Cheparinov surprise winner in Gibraltar". ChessBase. Retrieved 7 February 2014.
- "Corus Chess: News - Ivan Cheparinov forfeited over handshake". www.coruschess.com. 2008-01-20. Retrieved 2008-02-03.
- "Corus 2008: reaction Short after winning by forfeit". 2008-01-22. Retrieved 2010-04-26.
- "Corus 2008: reaction Danailov after no-handshake incident". 2008-01-20. Retrieved 2010-04-26.
- "Corus 2008: R9: The Start of Topalov-Kramnik". 2008-01-22. Retrieved 2010-04-26.
- "Wijk R08: Cheparinov forfeits on handshake, appeals". Chessbase. 2008-01-21. Retrieved 2008-02-03.
- "Behavioural norms of players in chess events. PB decision". Word Chess Federation. 25 June 2007. Retrieved 9 January 2018.
- "Corus Chess: News - Decision of the Appeals Committee in the dispute between GMs Ivan Cheparinov and Nigel Short". www.coruschess.com. 2008-01-20. Retrieved 2008-02-03.
- "90 000+ views of the Shake hand gambit declined". Chessdom. Retrieved 2008-02-03.
- "Cheparinov refuses handshake (chessdom.com)". YouTube. 2008-01-20. Retrieved 2008-02-03.