Open main menu

Central European Summer Time (CEST), sometime referred also as Central European Daylight Time (CEDT), is the standard clock time observed during the period of summer daylight-saving in those European countries which observe Central European Time (UTC+01:00) during the other part of the year. It corresponds to UTC+02:00, which makes it the same as Central Africa Time, South African Standard Time and Kaliningrad Time in Russia.[1]

Contents

NamesEdit

Other names which have been applied to Central European Summer Time are Middle European Summer Time (MEST),[2] Central European Daylight Saving Time (CEDT),[3] and Bravo Time (after the second letter of the NATO phonetic alphabet).[4] It is also in practice called CET, for example in invitations to events during the summer.

Period of observationEdit

Since 1996, European Summer Time has been observed between 01:00 UTC (02:00 CET and 03:00 CEST) on the last Sunday of March, and 01:00 UTC on the last Sunday of October; previously the rules were not uniform across the European Union.[5]

There are short term plans to abandon summer time in Europe.[citation needed]

UsageEdit

The following countries and territories regularly use Central European Summer Time:[6]

The following countries have also used Central European Summer Time in the past:

See alsoEdit

ReferencesEdit

  1. ^ "CEST time now". 24timezones.com. Retrieved 2018-07-20.
  2. ^ "Time zone names- Middle European Daylight, Middle European Summer, Mitteieuropaische Sommerzeit (german)". www.worldtimezone.com. Retrieved 2018-07-20.
  3. ^ "CEDT - Central European Daylight Time: Current local time". Time Difference. Retrieved 2018-07-20.
  4. ^ "B – Bravo Time Zone (Time Zone Abbreviation)". www.timeanddate.com. Retrieved 2018-07-20.
  5. ^ Joseph Myers (2009-07-17). "History of legal time in Britain". Retrieved 2009-10-11.
  6. ^ "CEST – Central European Summer Time (Time Zone Abbreviation)". www.timeanddate.com. Retrieved 2018-07-20.