Secalin is a prolamin glycoprotein found in the grain rye, Secale cereale.[1][2]

Secalin is one of the forms of gluten proteins that people with coeliac disease cannot tolerate, and thus rye should be avoided by people with this disease. It is generally recommended that such people follow a gluten free diet.

References edit

  1. ^ Gellrich, Claudia; Schieberle, Peter; Wieser, Herbert (15 January 2003). "Biochemical Characterization and Quantification of the Storage Protein (Secalin) Types in Rye Flour". Cereal Chemistry. 80 (1): 102–109. doi:10.1094/CCHEM.2003.80.1.102. ISSN 0009-0352.
  2. ^ Qazanfarzadeh, Zeinab; Kadivar, Mahdi; Shekarchizadeh, Hajar; Porta, Raffaele (February 2021). "Rye secalin characterisation and use to improve zein‐based film performance". International Journal of Food Science & Technology. 56 (2): 742–752. doi:10.1111/ijfs.14718. ISSN 0950-5423. S2CID 225473757.