Albion Central School District

The Albion Central School District is a public school district in New York State that serves approximately 2,600 children in the village of Albion; most of the towns of Albion, Barre, Carlton, and Gaines; small parts of the towns of Kendall, Murray, and Ridgeway in Orleans County; and portions of the town of Elba in Genesee County, with an operating budget of $30 million (~$11,500 per student).

Albion Central School District
324 East Avenue
Albion, New York 14411


United States of America
District information
TypePublic
MottoAchievement, Character, and Success for Life
GradesK-12
SuperintendentMichael S. Bonnewell
Budget$30 million
Students and staff
Studentsabt. 2,600
Teachersabt. 200
Athletic conferenceNew York State Public High School Athletic Association
District mascotPurple Eagle
Colors          Purple and white
Other information
Websitehttp://www.albionk12.org/

The District motto, "Achievement, Character, and Success", is an alternate expansion of the district acronym "ACS."

Michael S. Bonnewell is superintendent of schools.

Board of EducationEdit

The Board of Education (BOE) consists of 9 members who serve overlapping 5-year terms. Elections are held each May for board members and to vote on the School District Budget.

Current board members (May 2018) are:

  • Margy Brown - President
  • Marie Snyder - Vice President
  • Elissa Nesbitt
  • David Sidari
  • Wendy Kirby
  • Steve LaLonde
  • Chantelle Sacco
  • Kathy Harling
  • Wayne Wadhams

SchoolsEdit

Ronald L. Sodoma Elementary School (PreK-5)Edit

Rachel Curtin (Principal)

(Vice Principal)

Carl I. Bergerson Middle School (6-8)Edit

Brad Pritchard (Principal)

Charles C. D'Amico High School (9-12)Edit

Jennifer Ashbery (Principal) (July 1, 2019)

Katharine Waite (Assistant Principal)

RulesEdit

The Albion District has a strict code system called the "Code of Conduct". Many consequences can take place if these rules are broken. WEBB (We Expect Better Behavior), Detention (which can last until 5:00 P.M) in the middle school, trip to principals, suspension (or possibly be expelled), CR (Correction Room) for the high school. The elementary school does not have detention.

TimeEdit

Carl I. Bergerson Middle School & Charles C. D'Amico High School: Starts at 7:45 ET (6:45 CT) and ends at 2:22 ET (1:22 CT) Ronald L. Sodoma Elementary School: Starts at 9:00 ET (8:00 CT) and ends at 3:10 ET (2:10 CT)

BellsEdit

The middle and high Schools have different bell schedules for changing classes. However, the elementary school does not have these bells.

TechnologyEdit

Albion Central Schools have an advanced computer network. The three school buildings are interconnected on a district-wide fiber-optic network.

External linksEdit