Wikipedia:Peer review/Rowing (sport)/archive2

Rowing (sport)Edit

Wikipedia:Peer review/Rowing (sport)/archive1

This article has undergone extensive rewriting since the last request for peer review and has since gained 'good article' status. We would now appreciate any advice on what needs to be done to get the article featured. I will try to respond to any and all comments here within a day. Thankyou--The Spith 04:57, 25 January 2007 (UTC)

  • There is a citation needed for the sentence 'The first recorded race in America took place on the Schuylkill River in 1762 between 6-oared barges.' which I guess you are aware of.
  • I don't know too much about rowing, but it appears comprehensive enough, well cited and has good relevant images.
  • There seems to be a debate going on about whether or not the lead section needs citations. See here. Your lead section has information about the two forms of rowing that isn't available in the body of the article. The lead should only repeat what's in the rest of the article, and not have unique facts. If the lead is tossed out, the article should contain just as much information.-BiancaOfHell 06:26, 25 January 2007 (UTC)
Overall, excellent. With corrections definitely on it's way to FA in my opinion. I feel like going sea kayaking now.-BiancaOfHell 06:26, 25 January 2007 (UTC)

Thanks for the review. I changed the unsourced fact to one I found a source for. As for the intro, I'm not sure what is best to be done about that. I see no point in repeating information, especially as the content that is there at the moment does not realy fit anywhere else. The only alternative I can think of is making a 'basics of rowing' section at the start of the article, but then you would end up with two redundant introductions.--The Spith 07:51, 25 January 2007 (UTC)

M3tal H3adEdit

  • Try have a references for each paragraph,
  • Remove merge or expand the one sentence paragraphs
  • Fix the images under the oar section as it currently squashes everything there(messes up the structure).
  • Regarding the lead move the coxless pair image to the topright,
  • Change the two dot points into paragraphs
  • Don't wikilink solo years, ex 1900
  • You only bold text in the first sentence, Anatomy of a stroke has heaps of bold text
  • The Green Mountain Head Regatta external link in the text
  • Make the spelling of English words consistent with either American or British spelling, depending upon the subject of the article. Examples include: honour (B) (American: honor), meter (A) (British: metre), metre (B) (American: meter), fiber (A) (British: fibre), organize (A) (British: organise), organise (B) (American: organize), pediatric (A) (British: paediatric).

M3tal H3ad 10:48, 25 January 2007 (UTC)

Are there any pages on wikipedia policy discussing whether the encyclopedia should use British or American English? I'm guessing we are supposed to use the original author's choice, but this article was originally removed from another one, and there are American, Canadian and British contributors.--The Spith 15:04, 27 January 2007 (UTC)

For guidance on Spelling differences, see Wikipedia:Manual of Style#National varieties of English --Ozhiker (talk) 17:22, 9 September 2008 (UTC)

OldelpasoEdit

Some comments:

  • The lead is a little short, and does not really summarise the article as a whole. See WP:LEAD for more details.
  • I agree with M3tal H3ad that one sentence paragraphs would benefit from being expanded or merged.
  • There are a couple of laundry lists towards the end of the article. What criteris for inclusion are used for the list of Rowers of wider fame? The Terminology and Event nomenclsture section would be better as descriptive prose.

Hope this helps. Oldelpaso 10:51, 26 January 2007 (UTC)

Thanks for all the comments. I'll get to work on these--The Spith 15:02, 27 January 2007 (UTC)


OzhikerEdit

A first few notesĀ :

  • The first sentence doesn't mention that the racing is in boats
  • I'm not sure we need to talk about "reaction forces" in the lead, it could just say "the boat is propelled using oars" and then go into detail within the body.
  • I don't think the phrase "In the United States, high school and collegiate rowing is sometimes referred to as crew.[1]" should be in the lead - it seems to be a pretty obscure name.
  • The lead refers "recreational" rowing, but the refers to rowers as "Athletes". These terms seem to be somewhat at odds, although I'm not sure how this should be resolved.
  • Gig, Coastal and Surfboat rowing are not covered - if these are not supposed to be part of the article then the article probably needs to be renamed, since these are sports too (governed by FISA). Also, the lead might need to be changed as fine racing shells are not seagoing. On the other hand, the article does cover Indoor Rowing, so maybe should include these other types of boats

--Ozhiker (talk) 14:55, 9 September 2008 (UTC)