Open main menu

Jeff NelsonEdit

You removed my recent edit to the article for no reason other than what you claim is "ump bashing". The content I added to the article was sourced and I used neutral language as laid out in Neutral point of view for Biographies of living persons. It is in line with other umpires' pages that list their controversial/notable calls in their respective articles. I don't see why my edit should be removed when it's not in violation of Wikipedia policy. Seems like you just removed it because you didn't like the content. --24.114.70.227 (talk) 18:57, 18 May 2019 (UTC)

You ignored the part of my edit summary that plainly referenced WP:UNDUE. I have been working on umpire articles here for many years and the content you added is not in line with what appears in other articles. We should not include a specific missed call unless it is very significant and this missed call does not rise to that level. Lepricavark (talk) 00:43, 19 May 2019 (UTC)
I don't see how UNDUE applies here, it would help if you elaborated a little. The call was a blatantly wrong one as evidenced by the human eye, pitch/fx, replay, ect. and it has received adequate coverage in sports media, so not a minority view. Also, the call is indeed a significant one, as it turned a 3-1 pitch into a 2-2 pitch in a crucial stage of the game, affecting the batter's approach and perception of the strike zone on the following pitches and changing the complexion of the game. I'm wondering what the threshold is for a missed call to rise to a "very significant" level as you put it. If the general rule is that we don't mention missed balls/strikes unless it's say, a third strike at a crucial moment (usually followed by protest and ejection), then I can understand given the difference in the severity of the call. --2607:FEA8:1160:4FD:D4A3:9A83:3A1C:5743 (talk) 01:48, 19 May 2019 (UTC)
There's no hard and fast rule for what we do and don't mention, but a missed call during an at-bat that does not end the at-bat is unlikely to be included. I'm certainly not disputing the big difference between 3-1 and 2-2, but there are missed ball-strike calls in every playoff game. In fact, I recall there being some discussion a few years ago about an umpire having a near-perfect ball/strike game in the postseason. I believe he only missed two calls and that was seen as a big deal and very unusual. That umpire was Nelson and you'll notice that it is not mentioned at all in his article. Lepricavark (talk) 02:48, 19 May 2019 (UTC)
Return to the user page of "Lepricavark".