Open main menu

SpaceX CRS-17, also known as SpX-17, is a Commercial Resupply Service mission (CRS) to the International Space Station that was launched aboard a Falcon 9 rocket on May 4, 2019.[5] The mission was contracted by NASA and is flown by SpaceX.

SpaceX CRS-17
ISS-59 SpaceX CRS-17 Dragon approaches the ISS (5).jpg
SpaceX CRS-17 Dragon approaching to the ISS for RMS capture.
Mission typeISS resupply
OperatorSpaceX
COSPAR ID2019-025A
SATCAT no.44222Edit this on Wikidata
Spacecraft properties
SpacecraftDragon C113.2
Spacecraft typeDragon CRS
ManufacturerSpaceX
Dry mass4,200 kg (9,300 lb)
DimensionsHeight: 6.1 m (20 ft)
Diameter: 3.7 m (12 ft)
Start of mission
Launch dateMay 4 2019, 2:48 a.m. EDT (6:48 UTC)[1]
RocketFalcon 9
Launch siteCape Canaveral SLC-40
ContractorSpaceX
End of mission
DisposalRecovered
Landing date3 June 2019, 21:10 (2019-06-03UTC21:11) UTC[2]
Landing sitePacific Ocean,
off Baja California
Orbital parameters
Reference systemGeocentric
RegimeLow Earth
Inclination51.6°
Berthing at ISS
Berthing portHarmony nadir
RMS captureMay 6, 2019 7:04 a.m. EDT (11:04 UTC)[3]
Berthing dateMay 6, 2019 9:33 a.m. EDT (13:33 UTC)
Unberthing dateJune 3, 2019
RMS releaseJune 3, 2019 12:01 p.m. EDT (16:01 UTC)[4]
NASA SpX-17 mission patch
NASA SpX-17 mission patch  

Launch schedule historyEdit

In February 2016, it was announced that NASA had awarded a contract extension to SpaceX for five CRS additional missions (CRS-16 to CRS-20).[6] As of June 2016, a NASA Inspector General report had this mission manifested for October 2018,[7] but by January 2019 this had been pushed back to April 2019.[8]

Due to Dragon 2 test anomaly on April 20, 2019, SpaceX acquired a permit to allow landing to drone ship, "Of Course I Still Love You". It was stationed just 28 kilometres (17 mi) downrange "to ensure the integrity of the area and preserve valuable information". [9][10]

Primary payloadEdit

Total weight of the cargo of CRS-17 mission is 2,482 kg (5,472 lb), consisting of 1,517 kg (3,344 lb) in pressurized section and 965 kg in unpressurized section.[11]

Cargo in unpressurized section include the Orbiting Carbon Observatory 3 (OCO-3) and STP-H6.[11]

See alsoEdit

ReferencesEdit

  1. ^ Clark, Stephen (April 29, 2019). "Launch schedule". SpaceFlight Now. Retrieved May 1, 2019.
  2. ^ Bergin, Chris (3 June 2019). "CRS-17 Dragon returns home from ISS mission". NASA SpaceflightNow. Retrieved 31 August 2019.
  3. ^ @SpaceX (6 May 2019). "Capture confirmed! Dragon is now attached to the @Space_Station robotic arm" (Tweet) – via Twitter.
  4. ^ @SpaceX (3 Jan 2019). "Dragon has been released from the @Space_Station! Three departure burns are now underway" (Tweet) – via Twitter.
  5. ^ "Rocket Launch: April 30, 2019, 4:22 AM ET | SpaceX Falcon 9 CRS-17". blogs.nasa.gov. Retrieved 2019-04-23.
  6. ^ de Selding, Peter B. (24 February 2016). "SpaceX wins 5 new space station cargo missions in NASA contract estimated at $700 million". Space News. Retrieved 24 February 2016.
  7. ^ NASA Office of Inspector General (28 June 2016). NASA’s Response to SpaceX’s June 2015 Launch Failure: Impacts on Commercial Resupply of the International Space Station (PDF) (Report). NASA Office of Inspector General. p. 13. Retrieved 18 July 2016.
  8. ^ "Upcoming Missions". SpaceXNow.com. Retrieved 8 January 2019.
  9. ^ "FCC Application for special temporary authority". April 22, 2019. Retrieved April 23, 2019.
  10. ^ "NASA moves ahead with cargo Dragon launch after Crew Dragon anomaly". April 22, 2019. Retrieved April 24, 2019.
  11. ^ a b "SpaceX CRS-17 Mission Overview" (PDF). NASA. Retrieved 20 June 2019.

External linksEdit