List of women's presses

This is a list of publishers dedicated either wholly or to a significant degree to publishing material written for, by, or about women. Many of them started during the "second wave" of feminism. The focus of this list is not on publishers which market to women, but on publishers who have a stated commitment to publishing feminist and other women's studies texts.

List of women's presses, with city, state or country location, and the year of their founding.

See alsoEdit

ReferencesEdit

  1. ^ "about". 13thmoon.net. Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  2. ^ a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z aa ab ac ad ae af ag ah ai aj ak al am an ao ap "Women's Presses & Publishers". WordMothers. 2015-10-09. Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  3. ^ "Arktoi Books: About Arktoi". arktoi.com. Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  4. ^ "About Us". 2012. Archived from the original on 2012-01-06. Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  5. ^ "ABOUT US". Ashtreepublishing. Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  6. ^ "Aunt Lute Books". auntlute.com. Aunt Lute Books. 2006. Retrieved 12 March 2014.
  7. ^ Allen, Martha Leslie (2017). "Publishers" (PDF). Women’s Institute for Freedom of the Press.
  8. ^ "About Us – Bella Books". Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  9. ^ "About Us – B E L L A D O N N A *". Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  10. ^ "About | Bedazzled Ink Publishing". Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  11. ^ Murray, S. E., "Mixed media: feminist presses and publishing politics in twentieth-century Britain". Doctoral thesis, University of London, 1999, p. 152.
  12. ^ Chen, Jane (July 7, 2006). "A Survey of the Lesbian Fiction Publishing Industry (page 2)". AfterEllen. Archived from the original on 2011-05-18. Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  13. ^ Milward, Burton, The Press Tradition in Lexington, Kentucky, The Kentucky Review, Vol.11, No. 3, Article 2, pp. 8-10, Birchfield, James D. and William Marshall, A Bibliography of Kentucky Printing History, The Kentucky Review, Vol. 14, No. 1, Article 6, p. 63.
  14. ^ "About Us". Bywater Books. Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  15. ^ "Calyx Press, Inc". calyxpress.org/. Calyx Press, Inc. 2015. Retrieved 19 March 2015.
  16. ^ "Caitlin Press". caitlin-press.com. Caitlin Press. 2017. Retrieved 1 June 2017.
  17. ^ "Welcome to Cleis". cleispress.com. Cleis Press. 2006. Retrieved 22 March 2011.
  18. ^ The Crossing Press continues to operate today as an imprint of Crown Publishing Group.
  19. ^ "Éditions des Femmes". desfemmes.fr/. Éditions des Femmes. 2018. Retrieved 9 April 2018.
  20. ^ fr:Éditions des femmes
  21. ^ "The Feminist Press at the City University of New York". feministpress.org. The Feminist Press. 2011. Retrieved 22 March 2011.
  22. ^ "ABOUT". Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  23. ^ "Honno Press - discovering women writers of Wales". honno.co.uk. Honno. 2010. Retrieved 22 March 2011.
  24. ^ "Inanna Publications :: About". inanna.ca. Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  25. ^ "Kitchen Table, Women of Color Press". OpenLibrary.org. Retrieved 8 June 2017.
  26. ^ "Welcome to Linen Press website". linen-press.com. Linen Press Books. Retrieved 30 May 2011.
  27. ^ "MAGNETEWAN BOOKS | Shipping to Readers Around the World". Retrieved 21 July 2019. Magnetewan Books is a small, select publishing house in Vancouver. Magnetewan Books specializes in Women’s History and social issues.
  28. ^ "Modjaji Books". African Book Collective. 2012. Retrieved 14 July 2012.
  29. ^ Jeffreys, Sheila (3 December 2016). Lesbian History Group -Onlywomen Press 2017. Lesbian History Group. Event occurs at 0:20. Retrieved 4 September 2018.
  30. ^ "Perugia Press – The Best New Women Poets". perugiapress.com. Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  31. ^ "Welcome to the Red Letter Press radical and feminist online bookstore!". redletterpress.org. Red Letter Press. Retrieved 22 March 2011.
  32. ^ "Welcome to Second Story Press". secondstorypress.ca. Second Story Press. 2008. Retrieved 22 March 2011.
  33. ^ "Alta and the History of Shameless Hussy Press, 1969-1989 | University Library". library.ucsc.edu. Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  34. ^ "Sheba Press & worries about link rot", Feminist Archive South.
  35. ^ "Celebrating Women's Achievements". collectionscanada.gc.ca. Library and Archives Canada. 2010. Retrieved 22 March 2011.
  36. ^ "Spinifex Press". spinifexpress.com.au. Spinifex Press. Retrieved 22 March 2011.
  37. ^ "Switchback Books". switchbackbooks.com. Switchback Books. Retrieved 30 October 2015.
  38. ^ "Tender Buttons About". tenderbuttonspress.com. Tender Buttons Press. 2015. Retrieved 30 October 2015.
  39. ^ "Alternative Cartographies: The Impact of Third Woman on Chicana Feminist Literature, 1981-1986". thirdwomanpress.com. Third Woman Press. 2015. Retrieved 3 December 2015.
  40. ^ "Welcome to the Virago Catalogue Site". virago.co.uk. Virago Press. 2008. Retrieved 22 March 2011.
  41. ^ Coccia, Leviana (13 November 2016). "With/out Pretend, independent Canadian publisher, releases second book, 'You Care Too Much'". a quarter young. Retrieved 14 August 2017.
  42. ^ An association of Kali for Women
  43. ^ "About Women Unlimited". womenunlimited.net. Women Unlimited. Retrieved 22 March 2011.
  44. ^ "The Women's Press Publishers". writewords.org.uk. Retrieved 2019-02-26.
  45. ^ "Women's Press". CSPI. Retrieved 2019-12-14.
  46. ^ "About Zubaan". zubaanbooks.com. Zubaan.

External linksEdit