Dragon Hoops

Dragon Hoops is a nonfiction graphic novel by Gene Luen Yang, illustrated by Gene Luen Yang and Lark Pien, and published by March 17, 2020, by First Second.

Dragon Hoops
Dragon Hoops.jpg
AuthorGene Luen Yang
LanguageEnglish
PublisherFirst Second
Publication date
March 17, 2020
ISBN978-1-626-72079-4

ReceptionEdit

Dragon Hoops received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly,[1] School Library Journal,[2] The Horn Book,[3] Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books,[4] and Booklist,[5] as well as positive reviews from Kirkus,[6] San Francisco Chronicle,[7] and The New York Times.[8][9]

Publishers Weekly complimented the book's writing: "Using a candid narrative and signature illustrations that effectively and dynamically bring the fast-paced games to life, Yang has crafted a triumphant, telescopic graphic memoir that explores the effects of legacy and the power of taking a single first step, no matter the outcome."[1] The Horn Book's Eric Carpenter drew attention to how "Yang skillfully juggles the stories of multiple players and coaches as well as his own journey from basketball novice to avid fan."[3]

Jesse Karp, writing for Booklist, applauded Yang's artwork: "Combining visual flair, like speeding backgrounds, with nearly diagrammatic movement, he creates pulse-pounding game sequences."[5] Karp continued, noting, "Most important, through recurring visual motifs that connect a champion basketball player to a self-questioning artist to a Russian immigrant with a new idea, he illuminates the risks that every one of us must take and has, once again, produced a work of resounding humanity."[5]

In varied reviews, the book was called a "standout showing,"[2] "[a] winner,"[6] and "emotional."[7]

The New York Times,[10] The Washington Post,[11] Amazon,[11] Forbes,[12] School Library Journal,[13] Booklist,[11] The Horn Book,[14] Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books,[15] and Publishers Weekly[16] included Dragon Hoops in "Best of" lists. School Library Journal included it several reading lists.[17][18][19]

Awards and honors for Dragon Hoops
Year Award/Honor Result Ref.
2020 Booklist Editors' Choice: Books for Youth Selection [20]
Booklist Top of the List for Youth Graphic Novel Selection [21]
2021 Association for Library Service to Children Notable Children's Books for Older Readers Selection [22]
Michael Printz Award Honor [23]

ReferencesEdit

  1. ^ a b "Children's Book Review: Dragon Hoops by Gene Luen Yang". Publishers Weekly. 2020-01-02. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  2. ^ a b Thompson, Steven (2020-01-24). "Dragon Hoops". School Library Journal. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  3. ^ a b Carpenter, Eric (May 6, 2020). "Review of Dragon Hoops". The Horn Book. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  4. ^ "March 2020". Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  5. ^ a b c Karp, Jesse (February 15, 2020). "Dragon Hoops". Booklist. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  6. ^ a b "Dragon Hoops". Kirkus Reviews. December 21, 2019. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  7. ^ a b Yu, Brandon (March 13, 2020). "Gene Yang's latest work traces Oakland high school basketball sorrow and glory". San Francisco Arts & Entertainment Guide. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  8. ^ Craft, Jerry (2020-03-28). "No Fan of Sports, a Graphic Novelist Learns to Follow the Bouncing Ball". The New York Times. ISSN 0362-4331. Retrieved 2021-09-27.
  9. ^ Gustines, George Gene (2020-03-27). "Gene Luen Yang Discovers the Art of Basketball". The New York Times. ISSN 0362-4331. Retrieved 2021-09-27.
  10. ^ "The 25 Best Children's Books of 2020". The New York Times. 2020-12-02. ISSN 0362-4331. Retrieved 2021-09-27.
  11. ^ a b c "Dragon Hoops". IndieBound. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  12. ^ Salkowitz, Rob. "The Best Graphic Novels Of 2020". Forbes. Retrieved 2021-09-27.
  13. ^ Thompson, Steve; Perez, Alea; Maluck, Thomas; Dar, Mahnaz (2020-11-23). "Best Graphic Novels 2020 | SLJ Best Books". School Library Journal. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  14. ^ Sutton, Roger (December 7, 2020). "Fanfare 2020 Booklist". The Horn Book. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  15. ^ Stevenson, Deborah. "2020 Blue Ribbons". Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  16. ^ "Best Books 2020". Publishers Weekly. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  17. ^ Johnson, Abby. "2020 All Star Read-Alikes: Three YA Picks for Fans of". School Library Journal. Retrieved 2021-09-27.
  18. ^ Reviews, S. L. J. "17 Immersive Graphic Novels for Teens | Summer Reading 2021". School Library Journal. Retrieved 2021-09-27.
  19. ^ S. L. J. Reviews (May 25, 2021). "10 YA Sports Novels That Knock It Out of the Park | Summer Reading 2021". School Library Journal. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  20. ^ "Booklist Editors' Choice: Books for Youth, 2020". Booklist. January 1, 2021. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  21. ^ "Top of the List: 2020". Booklist. January 1, 2021. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  22. ^ "Notable Children's Books: 2021". Booklist. March 15, 2021. Retrieved 2021-09-27.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)
  23. ^ "Reviews of the 2021 Printz Award Winners". January 26, 2021.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: url-status (link)