Open main menu

Ali Bin Nasser (also spelled Ali Bennaceur, Arabic: علي بن ناصر‎; born 2 March 1944) is a former Tunisian football referee.[1]


1986 FIFA World CupEdit

Argentina-England refereeing disputeEdit

Nasser refereed the match between Argentina and England in the 1986 FIFA World Cup, where the "Hand of God" and the "Goal of the Century" were scored by Argentine captain Diego Maradona to win the match. For the "Hand of God" goal, Maradona punched the ball into the net, however, Bin Nasser stated that he did not see this and thought that Maradona had headed the ball.

Both Bin Nasser and his Bulgarian assistant linesman Bogdan Dochev blamed each other for the handball being missed. Bin Nasser said he waited for a signal from Dochev of a handball, but since none came, he awarded the goal. TV footage backs this up, as it shows Bin Nasser looking at him after the goal expectantly. Dochev, however, blamed Bin Nasser, saying that at the time assistant referees were not allowed by FIFA to discuss decisions with referees: whatever the referee decided was final. He suggested Bin Nasser's inexperience at the highest levels of football in Europe were to blame.[2][3]

Further appearancesEdit

At the 1986 FIFA World Cup finals, he was also the first official in the group match between Poland and Portugal as well as an assistant in three further matches at the tournament, including the round of 16 fixture between Denmark and Spain.[4] He never officiated a FIFA World Cup match again after the 1986 tournament.

Later lifeEdit

On 17 August 2015, Maradona visited Bin Nasser at his home in Tunisia and paid tribute to him, offering him an Argentine jersey bearing his signature and called him "eternal friend."[5][6][7][8]


  1. ^ "Ali Bin Nasser - Spiele als Schiedsrichter".
  2. ^
  3. ^
  4. ^ "". Archived from the original on 2007-09-29.
  5. ^ "International football: Maradona holds up his hands in apology - (English version)".
  6. ^ "'My eternal friend': Diego Maradona meets infamous ref who gave 'Hand of God' goal". 18 August 2015.
  7. ^ País, Ediciones El (18 August 2015). "Maradona visits Tunisian referee who awarded him 1986 "Hand of God" goal".
  8. ^ Maradona meets infamous ‘hand of God’ referee in Tunisia, EL Arabiya news sport, 18 August 2015