2020 ANZ Premiership season

The 2020 ANZ Premiership season was the fourth season of the ANZ Premiership, the premier domestic netball league in New Zealand. The league was contested by six teams from around New Zealand, with a total of 47 matches played between March and August. Defending premiers Central Pulse won their second consecutive premiership, defeating Mainland Tactix by 12 goals in the Grand Final.[1]

2020 ANZ Premiership season
LeagueANZ Premiership
SportNetball
Duration15 March – 23 August
Number of teams6
TV partner(s)Sky Sport
ChampionsCentral Pulse
  Runners-upMainland Tactix
  Minor premiersCentral Pulse
Adjacent seasons

Following the first round of fixtures, the season was suspended due to the ongoing Coronavirus pandemic.[2] The season recommenced on 19 June, with most matches played at the Auckland Netball Centre.[3][4]

FormatEdit

The 2020 ANZ Premiership season originally changed from a 13-round to a 16-round season.[5]

Following the suspension of the season after round 1, the re-arranged fixture was reduced to ten rounds. At the conclusion of these matches, the top two teams meet in the Grand Final, and the other teams compete for finishing positions from third to sixth.[4]

TeamsEdit

Team City Home Venues Heach coach Captain(s) Import Players Sponsor
Northern Mystics Auckland The Trusts Arena,

Eventfinda Stadium

Helene Wilson Phoenix Karaka None None
Northern Stars Auckland Pulman Arena Kiri Wills Grace Kara Daystar Swift Robinhood
Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic Hamilton Claudelands Arena,

Trustpower Arena

Amigene Metcalfe Samantha Winders Georgia Marshall Splice Construction Ltd
Central Pulse Wellington TSB Bank Arena,

Fly Palmy Arena

Yvette McCausland-Durie Katrina Rore None Te Wānanga O Raukawa
Mainland Tactix Christchurch Horncastle Arena,

Trafalgar Centre

Marianne Delaney-Hoshek Jane Watson None The Good Oil
Southern Steel Invercargill ILT Stadium Southland,

More FM Arena

Reinga Bloxham Te Huinga Reo Selby-Rickit

& Gina Crampton

Kalifa McCollin Ascot Park Hotel

Source: 2020 Media Guide

Regular seasonEdit

Round 1Edit

Sun 15 Mar Mainland Tactix 41 – 53 Central Pulse Stadium 2000, Blenheim  
4:10 pm Report
Sun 15 Mar Northern Stars 55 – 59 Northern Mystics Pulman Arena, Papakura  
6:10 pm Report
Mon 16 Mar Southern Steel 48 – 54 Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic More FM Arena, Dunedin  
7:15 pm Report

Round 2Edit

Fri 19 Jun Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic 40 – 47 Northern Mystics Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sat 20 Jun Southern Steel 36 – 43 Mainland Tactix Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sun 21 Jun Northern Stars 39 – 63 Central Pulse Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sun 21 Jun Northern Stars 48 – 43 Mainland Tactix Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats

Round 3Edit

Fri 26 Jun Mainland Tactix 45 – 36 Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sat 27 Jun Northern Mystics 46 – 42 Southern Steel Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sun 28 Jun Northern Stars 47 – 49 Southern Steel Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Mon 29 Jun Central Pulse 42 – 35 Northern Mystics Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats

Round 4Edit

Fri 3 Jul Northern Mystics 47 – 42 Mainland Tactix Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sat 4 Jul Central Pulse 47 – 40 Southern Steel Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sun 5 Jul Central Pulse 51 – 30 Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Mon 6 Jul Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic 46 – 46 Northern Stars Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats

Round 5Edit

Fri 10 Jul Central Pulse 40 – 37 Southern Steel Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sat 11 Jul Southern Steel 39 – 48 Northern Stars Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sun 12 Jul Northern Stars 45 – 43 Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sun 12 Jul Mainland Tactix 41 – 40 Northern Mystics Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Mon 13 Jul Mainland Tactix 46 – 46 Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats

Round 6Edit

Fri 17 Jul Northern Mystics 51 – 47 Northern Stars Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sat 18 Jul Central Pulse 44 – 38 Northern Mystics Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sun 19 Jul Central Pulse 33 – 32 Mainland Tactix Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sun 19 Jul Southern Steel 41 – 40 Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Mon 20 Jul Southern Steel 35 – 48 Mainland Tactix Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats

Round 7Edit

Fri 24 Jul Central Pulse 51 – 47 Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sat 25 Jul Central Pulse 46 – 36 Northern Stars Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sun 26 Jul Mainland Tactix 47 – 40 Northern Stars Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sun 26 Jul Southern Steel 47 – 41 Northern Mystics Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Mon 27 Jul Northern Mystics 45 – 39 Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats

Round 8Edit

Thu 30 Jul Mainland Tactix 45 – 39 Northern Stars Horncastle Arena  
Stats
Sat 1 Aug Northern Stars 50 – 43 Southern Steel Auckland Netball Centre  
Stats
Sun 2 Aug Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic 35 – 44 Mainland Tactix Claudelands Arena  
Stats
Sun 2 Aug Central Pulse 42 – 44 Northern Mystics Te Rauparaha Arena  
Stats
Mon 3 Aug Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic 37 – 36 Southern Steel Claudelands Arena  
Stats

Round 9Edit

Fri 7 Aug Southern Steel 51 – 47 Northern Mystics ILT Stadium Southland  
Stats
Sat 8 Aug Southern Steel 34 – 49 Central Pulse ILT Stadium Southland  
Stats
Sun 9 Aug Northern Mystics 42 – 43 Mainland Tactix The Trusts Arena  
Stats
Sun 9 Aug Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic 45 – 46 Northern Stars Claudelands Arena  
Stats
Mon 10 Aug Central Pulse 32 – 39 Mainland Tactix TSB Bank Arena  
Stats

Round 10Edit

Fri 14 Aug Northern Mystics drawn Northern Stars The Trusts Arena  
Sat 7 may Northern Mystics drawn Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic The Trusts Arena  
Sun 9 may Southern Steel drawn Mainland Tactix Edgar Centre  
Sun 16 Aug Central Pulse drawn Northern Stars TSB Bank Arena  
Mon 17 Aug Central Pulse drawn Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic TSB Bank Arena  
  • On 12 August, Netball New Zealand declared all five matches of Round 10 drawn, with all teams awarded two competition points for their respective matches. This occurred due to a change in the country's COVID-19 alert levels.[6]

LadderEdit

Pos Team P W L D GF GA GD G% BP Pts
1 Central Pulse 15 11 2 2 594 474 120 125.3 1 49
2 Mainland Tactix 15 9 4 2 606 566 40 107.1 2 42
3 Northern Mystics 15 7 6 2 582 475 7 101.2 3 35
4 Northern Stars 15 5 7 3 590 626 -36 94.2 3 29
5 Southern Steel 15 4 10 1 578 637 -59 90.7 3 21
6 Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic 15 2 9 4 520 592 -72 87.8 3 19
Last updated: 14 August 2020 — Source

Grand FinalEdit

Sun 23 Aug
6.45pm
Report
Stats
Central Pulse 43–31 Mainland Tactix    ILT Stadium Southland Sky Sport

ReferencesEdit

  1. ^ "Netball: Central Pulse beat Mainland Tactix to claim ANZ Premiership title". NZ Herald. 23 August 2020.
  2. ^ "Netball's ANZ Premiership joins list of postponed competitions". RNZ. 2020-03-20. Retrieved 2020-03-20.
  3. ^ "ANZ Premiership confirms plans to resume season". ANZ Premiership. 11 May 2020.
  4. ^ a b "ANZ Premiership fixtures to return to home venues in front of fans in July". NewsChain. 17 June 2020.
  5. ^ "The League • ANZ Premiership Netball". anzpremiership.co.nz. Retrieved 2020-03-20.
  6. ^ "All Upcoming ANZ Premiership Round 10 Matches Declared Drawn". ANZ Premiership. 12 August 2020.

External linksEdit